In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that government should highly tax the junk food industry which is evidently proven to be the main reason of causing serious health issues. This essay agrees that fast food companies should be taxed. The essay will first talk about the practice of similar penalization tax on other unhealthy food like alcohol and cigarette and then discuss how the consumption of junk food would be diminished eventually by imposing high tax on the industry.

The unhealthy food industry should be penalized in the form of tax like alcohol and cigarette. The raised tax could be used for educating people about the knowledge of healthy food since education is universally agreed as the most effective way as conscience people with enough healthy food knowledge can choose what they should eat by themselves. For example, a recent study from Oxford University in 2014 reported that 35% of people were more aware of the risk of cigarette than before the tax was increased as the government enhanced the education about the importance of healthy food at the same time.

The consumption of junk food would drop significantly after higher tax was introduced into the industry. According to the laws of economics, the higher the cost of the commodity, the less the consumption of the product and it will lead to the decrease of consumption of junk food eventually. For instance, The Time reported that 62% of people would consider to eat less of fast food if its price increased by only 10%.

In conclusion, this essay agrees the fast food business should be highly taxed so as to reflect the negative influential effects on human health just like cigarette and alcohol; as a result, the consumption of junk food will eventually drop because of economic reason and healthy knowledge consciousness.