In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Jobs become crucial factor in the development of a countries economy, therefore forcing laws in the recruitment will have detrimental effects. Some countries have implemented laws to protect the discrimination of recruitment based on age. I think this might lead to negative impact though it secures the jobs for senior people. This essay will explain the reasons behind the effects.

There is legislation to prohibit the rejection of job application based on age discrimination in some countries. Firstly, as there are limitation that arises with increasing age in ones physical and mental ability, assigning a job to such person becomes highly questionable to an employer. Job demands are based on the skill requirement if so then promising employment for sake of a law requirement compromises employer's stake.

Secondly, some works mainly requires senior people or only young people, such managing complex petrochemical plants needs a veteran or seasoned person while field work force requires young active people. In the latest journal published on Science Direct states that government regulation on skill force had created back lash in economy in the such countries in past 5years. But it has paved a way to keep the senior people in work force facilitating 23% share of the economy.

To conclude, in spite of economic benefit showered upon senior citizens there is negative impact for the employer to run the institution in terms of productivity.