In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantage and disadvantages of renting a home?

Providing adequate houses to people is one of the most challenging task among developing countries. It has seen that the trend of renting homes are on the rise instead of purchasing them. This trend has both its benefits and demerits that will be discussed in the essay below.

On one hand, firstly, the main advantage of renting houses is that it is inexpensive as compared to purchasing it. Mostly, the middle class families in developing countries are not financially sound so, they cannot be able to purchase houses. So, renting a house is an easy and affordable option. Also, people can avoid the complex process of buying a bungalow or flat and can skip a red tape by renting it. For instance, purchasing of a house in Dubai firstly, requires to be in specific area, secondly, it one have to coordinate with the municipality for the plans and drawings then it have to be approved by land department. And after the verification of all the documents, one have to go through court process of legally acquiring it. Therefore, renting a house is not only cost less but also can easily be done as compared to purchasing it.

On the other hand, the major demerit of renting a house is that people will not have their own place to live in. They will be living there till they can afford the rent and as soon as the rent increases or they lose job, they have to leave the place. For example, one of my friend have to evacuate his rented house because the landlord decided to increase the rent three times the original rent that he cannot afford. So, in the end, people will have not their own place to live if they keep renting.

In conclusion, although, renting homes are easier and required less red tape as compared to purchasing it but people have to evacuate when they cannot able to afford the rent or get retire from work. So, in developing countries, government have to provide institutions or facilities that helps people in having their own houses.