In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Purchasing a house for most is a massive goal, which when completed, makes them feel like they have crossed a huge milestone in their lives. For citizens in many countries, it is essential to own a house whereas for others renting one seems like a better option. In this essay, I will elaborate on why is it considered vital to own a house and will also detail out why I believe it is not a such a good idea to buy a house.

For many the predominant reason to purchase a house is that it gives the owner a sense of security. Since the house belongs to them, the scare of being homeless in case of unforeseen circumstances is greatly minimized. Take for instance the current situation of living in a pandemic, people are losing their jobs and so it is getting hard for them to pay rents resulting in termination of their rental agreements and leaving the accommodation. Another significant reason for the difference in opinion in some countries is to do with the cost of living, that is, how much does it cost of renting instead of buying a house. If the cost is at par, people then prefer to have their own house. In Canada, the monthly cost of renting an apartment is as much as the monthly mortgage for a house. Due to these reasons, people find it important to buy their own place rather than rent out one.

Although the above reasons are convincing, I do not think that they are in a positive situation buying a house. The first major factor in my opinion is that such a huge purchase will put a huge financial burden on the owner. Not only will the owner have to worry about paying the hefty cost for the purchase, but if there is a loan attached, they will have to also pay the additional interest that accumulates on that amount. Some spend their entire lives paying off the bank’s loan and they can still lose the house if they are unable to keep up the installments.

In conclusion, for many reasons, people think owning a house is important, however factors like financial stability must be taken into account before making the biggest purchase of their life.