In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education with a range of subjects. In others, it has a narrow range of specific subjects so students can focus on their future career. What system is more appropriate in today’s world?

It is true that in some nations, an educational program includes variety of different subjects, while in others a college program concentrates on specialized courses related to a student’s future profession. In my opinion, a program covering a broad range of topics is more suitable for modern requirements.

First, college students have to explore diversity of science and art in order to be able to do adequate choice of their future path as professionals. Probably their perception will change in the course of educational process. For instance, I always was keen in precise subjects as mathematics, but later I realized than I am fond of dancing. Thus, school should help children to unleash their true potential and lead them to becoming the best person they could be.

In contrast to it, those curriculums, which are focused on specific subjects with emphasizing on a certain pursuit, may help to receive deeper knowledge in some field, however it miss everything lying beyond the priorities. As a result, children lose the chance to bring to light talents, which were not discovered previously. Meanwhile, secondary school should not sacrifice them for the sake of limited range of knowledge because modern people live in a highly competitive world and information is everything. In addition, flexibility and ability to change the field of work is crucial for the survival in a modern life.

In conclusion, even though narrow subject system may be useful in some cases, I believe that the present world needs more broaden range disciplines to be studded in college because it aides in children’s development and reliving their true potential.