In some countries, university students live at home with their families while they study, whereas in other countries students attend University in another city. Do you think the benefits of living far away from home during the university outweigh the disadvantages?

Education lays the foundation for a person's success and progress. Despite many arguing that students should stay with their families while they study, others tend to claim that there are multiple benefits for students to stay away from families while they study. I strongly believe that students should live in another city during the university days for overall development and progress. With the course of this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints with some examples.

Firstly, students tend to stay at parental houses while they are at the university since it is cost effective. Moreover, they can save a lot of money by staying at home rather than renting the apartment. The recent survey carried out by the University of California found that 60% of students like to stay at home while they study since it helps them to focus more on studies and to avoid any external distraction. Secondly, students can help their parents in daily household works. This way, they can contribute towards family as well. Although, staying home can provide better food and living standard. However, sometimes it is difficult to concentrate on studies due to family nuisance.

On the other hand, nowadays, many students prefer staying in a different city. Studying and living far from home help students for their overall growth and development. They have better exposure to the world. Scholars living in different cities learn to live independently and earn at the early stage of their lives. Students can concentrate more on the studies and research works. As per the latest report published by the University of Arizona showed that students who stay in university campus are more active in research activities that the students staying with parents.

To conclude, certainly, there can be disadvantages of living away from family, but there are more advantages in the longer run. Living away from home can help students to become mature and provide students strength to overcome any difficulties in life. In my opinion, staying away from home surely helps students in the future.