In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city.

Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

University education is pivotal in an individuals life as they tend to pursue what they actually desire, deciding the course of their remaining life. Certain students decide to attend universities in their hometown and stay with their parents while others relocate to other countries or cities while deciding to stay away from home. This essay will argue why the advantages of moving to another city outweighs disadvantages.

To begin, becoming independent is most appropriate benefit of staying away from family. Peer actually carves his own path towards success by striving towards it once he plunges out his comfort zone and one way of doing so is becoming independent. The dependency of individuals for certain needs such as finance or household chores on family ends when they relocate. To sustain these individuals have to manage their expenses themselves my earning through part time jobs as well as doing their chores themselves. This hustle certainly makes individuals stronger mentally, enabling them to face real world challenges ahead. For example, my brother moved to Australia two years back for university studies and after completion of studies he secured a job in Google. This exemplifies the fact that struggling away from family is fruitful if things are managed correctly.

However, staying away from home can cause homesickness and stress. Managing all the activities like studies, jobs and daily chores is hectic and can lead to depression sometimes. Numerous people face this situation and return back to their home after completing or even incomplete studies, citing the mental struggle reasons. Moreover, students struggle to get acclimatized to new culture, ways of teaching and the fear of failure surfaces leading to stress and depression.

To conclude, it is burdensome for students moving to a different country for university and managing tasks themselves. But if peers learn to manage theirs tasks efficiently, planning out things and staying strong mentally the benefits of staying away from family definitely outweighs disadvantages.