In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people and

give your opinion.

There are nations where youngsters are asked to take a time off between completing secondary and tertiary education. I believe students should not take a leave from education for this long as it can breaks the rhythm of study. However, there are both merits and demerits associated with this idea which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs.

The major benefit for students who intend to travel or work before stepping to the university study is that they get an exposure of certain professions. As a result, this can helps them to elevate their confidence by gaining experience and making money. Apart from this, pupils who wish to travel overseas are more likely to attain knowledge about different cultures, traditions and history of countries. For instance, students who want to pursue travel and tourism course can benefit themselves while exploring new spots.

However, there are some drawbacks related to this scenario. Firstly, there is a likelihood for children to get distracted from education due to addiction of earning money. Consequently, this can limit their academic knowledge and career growth. Secondly, teenagers who choose to travel may not return to their home country after certain period because of tempatation. For example, my friend went to Europe in 2016 and after that he lost his interest to take admission at university. Had he planned to continue the study, he would have become a chartered accountant now.

To conclude, having knowledge of professional sector and getting to know about the customs of other countries are the postive aspects. On the other hand, the negative aspects such as early enticement of wealth and can lost interest from academics are practically detrimental.