Some people say that a person’s success in adult life is the result of the way they were brought up as a child by their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and

experience.

No one can deny the fact that the upbringing of children plays a crucial role in their overall development as adults, and for that reason, it is critically important that children are raised in a healthy environment. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, children are taught certain virtues by their parents, which can certainly have a positive impact on their adult life in the future. In other words, adults continue to follow the same values which they were taught during their childhood. Drawing from my own experience, I still remember that during my middle school days my mother used to teach me the importance of various virtues like compassion, respect, gratitude, modesty, sincerity, and many more. Consequently, I have been inculcating these values in real life since childhood. Eventually, this has even helped me to become successful in my personal and professional life. Had I not got these values, I would not have become a responsible adult.

Moreover, children are mentally affected by the behavior of their parents. To elucidate, when children are raised in a violent and traumatic environment, they tend to learn the same behavior of their parent. My opinion in this matter has been profoundly influenced by the experience of my friend, Jia. During our school days, Jia always used to tell me about the constant fight between her parents. Moreover, she was sad and isolated due to this problem. After ten years, she was diagnosed with clinical depression and had to leave her college studies. What I learned from Jia is that the cognitive development of a person is strongly influenced by his/her childhood environment.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly conclude that childhood upbringing can have either a positive or negative impact on adulthood. Not only will it help people to inculcate good values in life, but also impact their mental development.