In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Travelling around the world after completing high school is quite usual these days. This is common among every student irrespective of their background. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this point of view, which students follow now-a-days.

To start with, the main reason behind this trend is that young people want more experience in terms of knowledge, independence and view on life. They get themselves indulged in some internship on a stipend, which eventually imparts practical knowledge. The practical know-how is absent in academics and even if it is there, it is up to a very limited extent. People going directly from high school to university may not have knowledge and experience of the real world. Whereas, people who spent a year or two working or travelling have a broader view of the world and tend to be more independent. This helps them in coping with the challenges of the student life. Further to this, many employers look forward to the candidates who have little bit of practical knowledge along with the theoretical knowledge.

However, this trend has its own disadvantages too. People may find it difficult to adapt to the studies again. Some might even forgo the thought of studying completely. They may think that working full-time is better, or to do something different from university course. They may fall for the money and forget the importance of being academically strong.

Overall, young people should be encouraged to broaden their view of the world. The best way to do that is for them to travel or work. At the same time, it can't be denied that academic qualifications are also necessary for having career growth and opportunities.

In conclusion, young people should be given liberty to travel, broaden their horizon, but they should come back to studies for better career opportunities.