In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this

Although the years you spend on your education are very important, but many people believe that after finishing the high school and starting with the further education is the most crucial one that decides their future. Some experts assert that new adults should go on a trip or experience a job before starting their university studies because it has various benefits like being independent and confident. On the contrary, others claim that the students should study continuously and a year of travel or job will not be significant. I personally share the former view point, but I will explain both the ideas in the passage below.

New adults want more experience to get a broader view towards life and travelling to different places or working will make them confident and independent. Working or travelling alone will make them come out of their parent’s shadow and dealing with various problems will improve their character, helping them cope up with the challenges of the real world. We can see this when a person deals with a wide range of colleagues or customers and share the job responsibilities at work , this teaches him / her to solve the problems and overcome the obstacles. He may get himself indulged in some internship on a stipend, which eventually imparts practical knowledge. The practical know-how is absent in academics and even if it is there, it is up to a very limited extent.

Even though the idea of taking a year break sounds exciting, but there are some arguments against this view. People may find it difficult to adapt to the studies again. Some might even forgo the thought of studying completely. Many professors believe that the students forget the concepts and lessons learned because of the gap, which has adversely affected their learning ability. Students may think that working full-time is better because they don’t want to come out of their comfort zone. They may fall for the money and forget the importance of being academically strong. Taking an example of a student who wanted to a be a successful doctor, he started working with a hospital performing a small-scale job in the break and completely dumped his dream of becoming a successful medical practitioner.

It seems to me personally that the break students take to travel or work is more sustainable, provided, the teenagers should not get derailed from their long- term goals. Having strong academic background is as important as the work experience and the ideal combination of these two leads to a successful career.