In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

From the past few years, it has been quite common to take one year gap after school rather than straightway jump into college. Although this trend is beneficial to some extent but I would agree that its demerits are more significant.

To kick off, I believe that this development has far more drawbacks. One of them is inconsistency as this spent a year in serving any job for in travelling, defined it hard to get along with studies later. In addition to this they get rooted either into job satisfactions or travelling purposes. Besides this, another major disadvantage is that they solely left with the low grade jobs. As a result, the board down in petty jobs where chances of promotion or other rewards are highly minimal. For instance, a research carried out by the Melbourne University which reveals that 75% of the population who involved in small scale jobs such as labours, call centre employees have secondary education. However, it is apparent that there is a direct relationship between jobs and the qualification of person.

On the flip side, it is worth noting that students no longer remain bookworm. Moreover, the get opportunities to have their hands on the things , they are supposed to study further. This means that they might have practical approach to their subjects. Nevertheless, it is not advisable to take one year off from studies.

To recapitulate, according to above preceding discussion, I am highly in client to my notion. Even though both have its own good sites but still advantages of this trend carry more weight age.