In some countries, younger people are neglecting their rights to vote. WHAT problems does this cause and what are some possible solutions?

It is true that not all categories of ages are greatly estimating the importance of voting, especially the young ones. While there are some negative impacts of this trend on both youth and their countries, some feasible solutions are available to overcome this problem.

The continuous retreat of young people from taking part in voting might lead to a sharp decline in their patriotism. To illustrate, voting is a right given to any mature citizen in order to participate in shaping a better future for their countries; therefore, neglecting this right reflects a sort of irresponsibility towards the homeland. This can lead to creating generations that have no well to fight for their countries against any danger. In addition, young citizens represent the major category of population in some countries, Egypt for example. If they are negating their political role, chances for corruption will increase. In the year 2011, the Egyptian revolution against the regimen happened as a result for 30 years of corruption as young people used to abstain from participation to select the best to represent them.

Undoubtedly, some possible measures can be taken to mitigate this phenomenon. One solution would probably be increasing the awareness of people towards the value of their votes in ballot boxes from childhood. In many countries, children get involved in voting through school elections; hence, they become active citizens from an early age. One further measure would be applying fines against citizens who refuse to vote during any public elections, and Australia is one of the countries which have been applying a 1000 dollar fine as a penalty for not participating in elections or referendums.

By way of conclusion, not only dereliction in voting may cause dire impact one citizens but it may also affect countries adversely, thus, governments should take some measures to deter this phenomenon from aggravation.