In some educational systems, children are required to study one or more foreign languages. In others, foreign language study is not a requirement.

What are the potential benefits of foreign language study?

Do you think foreign language study is an important part of education?

Some schools are offering one or more foreign languages while others do not include them in their school curriculum. Not only it does help students to respect other cultures, it also helps students to perform better in another subjects and offer better opportunities in the job market. In my view, learning second language should be made compulsory as part of school program.

One of the potential benefits to study second language is it helps students to perceive world better. When they learn a new language, it means that they will have a chance to interact with other people which whom language is associated to. This can help them to appreciate diversity to respect different cultures. Furthermore, it will increase their opportunity to bond a new friendship with non-native speakers. Leaning other language will help us to explore and connect to local people when we are abroad. Although monolingual people will have the same opportunity to travel, multi-language people will speak to local people much more easily and therefore, offering a wider opportunity to explore more places.

Another benefit is that learning second language can help to improve student’s memory, and therefore, they will be most likely to perform better in other subjects taught in the schools. When students learn new vocabulary, they will be exposed to various new words with different pronunciations and rules, thus, they need to be able to recall them whenever they want to communicate with others. This ability will boost memory and people who speak multilanguage tend to be able to recall names, figures, and directions easier than monolingual speakers.

Moreover, fluency in one or two foreign languages can be a great asset in the future. It is common for employees to seek for a candidate who can speak different language due to the company nature as well as for relocation purpose. Therefore, there will be a greater chance for students mastering foreign language to secure better jobs when they enter the job market.

To sum up, foreign language clearly offers various benefits to the students and schools ought to embed it as part if their program.