Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

In order to cope with the highly challenging environment, employers try to be in touch with their staff around the clock irrespective of holidays. Even though this development helps employers to serve better for their clients, but it affects the work-life balance of the employees drastically. This process might have some positive outcomes but it cannot overweigh the negative effects it brings.

Serving around the clock maintains the reputation of an employer in front of their clients. Employers in return try to extract as much as possible from their staff. Workers who are available twenty-four hours a day including holidays are applauded with hikes and other privileges which inspire other co-workers to follow such path. Recently in a renowned IT company, the bonus is provided to employees based on the number of extra hours they worked apart from normal hours. These are the advantages which prove this development is beneficial to employers and employees too.

A person working 24 hours a day without a holiday cannot remain normal. Employees get lured by the fact that hikes and promotions will be given to them if they remain available all day including holidays too. This stress and the inhuman process can cause serious health issues to an employee. For example, most of the middle-aged corporate employees are suffering from obesity and depression. Though such working hours may get you promotion and hikes, but it will affect health seriously and this development obviously have more disadvantages.

To conclude, employers nowadays expecting their employees to be online throughout the day which include holidays too. This may profit employees at one time but it will definitely affect the balance between office and personal space of the employees in the long run. Finally, this development can have some advantages but it can never outweigh the disadvantages it provides among the workers.