Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Undoubtedly, being bilingual or multilingual is extremely important for children in oder to be successful. Many people suggest that children should start learning a second language in early years of schooling instead of secondary school. I firmly believe that this trend has both the merits and demerits.

On the one hand, learning an overseas language at early age brings a number of adverse impacts on young ones. Firstly, in these days youngsters have a lot of pressure when they begin their schooling as they have numerous subjects in school curriculum. Therefore. if teachers will emphasis on teaching a language other than native language at this age, they will be failing to concentrate on significant subjects which will result in failing final examinations. Moreover, every pupil has different level of learning ability and not all students can memorize all things at one time. However, some children born with such capabilities and brain power. Secondly, today infants are under the influence of western culture and do not know their country’s culture and traditions. If they will learn a western language like english and french, they are more likely to immigrant to more developed nations like Canada, Australia for finding attractive career options for them. So, it would have negative impact on the economy of the country if young ones would move to other countries for the seek of jobs. Finally, they will take into account their culture, traditions and customs that will lead to disappearance of variety of cultures.

On the other hand, along with downsides many advantages are attached with learning a non-native language. First of all, in today’s contemporary era children are motivated to learn two or three languages in order to develop their linguistic skills as well as to make them all rounded. Children can explore other nations with the help of learning other languages as they can interact with people internationally. In addition to this, young generation can represent their country by taking part in international sports as if they know other language, they can participate and win the competition for enhancing reputation of the country. Apart from this, to be proficient in anything individuals need continuous practice as children can learn a language very well in a long run instead of just with a few months training.

To conclude, Although the phenomenon of learning a second language has some pros but there are some cons that are brought by this trend.