Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by many that children benefit by learning a foreign language at primary level rather than secondary level. Despite its advantages, studying a new language at an early age comes with few drawbacks that must be addressed.

A common language is beneficial as this makes a child socially active. This means that he or she starts mixing up with other children while learning the new language which helps them to socialize with one another. In addition to this, the children start communicating at primary school. When a new language like English is taught to a child, they tend to grasp it faster as their brain develops quickly at this age. Because of this factor, children begin communicating and avoid using their mother tongue thereby enhancing their communication skill.

However, in some cases, getting to understand a new language may cause confusion as the child can mix up few words and vocabulary of the native as well as the foreign language. This may not only pressurize them at such a small age but also create stress factors due to which children can feel insecure. Furthermore, in this competitive world, if the child is unable to learn this common tongue, it can tamper with the development of their brain as the child can be intimidated. Therefore, the children will start disliking language as well as other subjects because they are unable to understand it.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of studying a foreign language by far outweighs the positive development. Although, these plus points are necessary to help any child achieve social skills, they can be achieved later at secondary education level when they are ready and comfortable.