Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

We live in an advanced and globalised world which necessitates that all people must learn a foreign language to cope with the modern trend. The optimum age for learning a new language is a matter of public debate which in my opinion is better to start as early as possible as the advantages of it are far more than the disadvantages.

On one hand, the main disadvantages of teaching children another language at primary school are that - firstly, it could affect their ability to learn their mother tongue properly and they might get confused by learning many different languages with different grammar and pronunciation at the same time. Secondly, it could be a waste of their study time which could be spent on learning core subjects such as mathematics, sciences, technology etc. Finally, the learning of foreign language adds more loads on these young kids and takes some of their fun time.

On the other hand knowing a foreign language at a young age is easier and need less time than learning at an older age. The children could pick up the pronunciation more easily as they learn it sub-consciously. Also, they learn with no shy and talk freely without any fear of making mistakes. Moreover teaching young children foreign language has a positive impact on their personality as it broadens their horizon and improves their social skills in dealing with foreign people and exposing them a wide range of cultures. Furthermore they will benefit from knowing a foreign language in their upcoming studies and work career as well, and still, they could find learning new language enjoyable for example: use some games and illustration for them as a teaching method.

In conclusion, learning, an international language is demanding skill that I think it should be starting at primary school as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.