Some hold the view that ideas and information should be completely open, and there should be no controls on what people can read and watch in the media (TV, newspapers, Internet).

Do you agree with this view, or do you think that in some circumstances government should limit the freedom of media?

Media has always been a great source to provide information to people. However, there have been some arguments between groups of people about how much liberty the media should have in terms of content they can share on air, Web or in the newspapers. Personally, I am against the idea that there should not be any restrictions on the information that media spreads in the world.

To support why government should control the content that media releases to all, firstly, there is a huge risk of false news catching fire and creating panic in the general public without sufficient supportive data. In other words, there a number of new channels and online websites that deliberately spread untrue negative news to gain TRPs. For example, in current COVID-19 situation, the news channels in India have been telling exaggerated number of Coronavirus symptoms, cases and deaths which eventually led people having normal cold symptoms rush to hospitals for Coronavirus tests and creating a difficult situation for doctors. Another issue is that the media usually focuses on negative news and does not show any positive changes occurring in the surroundings. So, it should be made mandatory for the media to share news positive developments in the world.

On the contrary, the advocates of the idea that media should be free to distribute all kind of information state that it is basic human right of people to know every piece of information that is related to anything or anywhere in the world. That is to say, people will only gain information when they are given an opportunity to. They can stay alert and act timely to any changing situation.

All things considered, media has access to a huge number of people so, it is very important for a government organization to check information which media is feeding to people’s mind. This will ensure the spread of adequate, useful and true information.