Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Toys are part of everybody's childhood. Parents shower their love by purchasing different kind of toys to their children. By doing this they also intend to improve the development of their child. There are variety of toys available in the market like, blocks, rattles board games, puzzles, video games, audio visual books etc.

Toys are primary source of entertainment for children. They love playing with toys. Parents buy different types of toys at different ages of a child. Infants are normally given blocks and rattles etc. These kind of toys helps them identify sound and objects. Children who are more than an year old are generally given audio-visual books like alphabet books, fruit books etc which help them to learn about different letters, words in turn helping them in improving their learning skills and boosting their memory. Children in their growing age are also fond of toys like football, cricket bat etc which also serve as a medium for exercise. Toys like video games improve hand-eye coordination as compared to any other toy.

Tough there are some disadvantages as well. At times children become addicted to toys which affects their studies. Playing to much of video games can affect eye sight of children. At social level, It can create inferiority complex if a child is given lot of toys as compared to other children.