Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Kids love toys. Toys are more than fun and games for kids. Although, some parents buy variety of toys for their children while there is some negative aspects with benefits. I will discuss both negative and positive aspects about having a lot of toys.

On one hand, playing with a lot of toys have benefits for toddlers or younger when they are not given all toys in one time providing that giving them 5 different toys in one time and other 5 different toys on next time of playing. It enhances their knowledge and creativity. For example, toys with different colour and shape helps them understand variety of colour and shapes of objects. Furthermore, it increase their self-pride when they play with a puzzle and solve it on its own. In addition, if they play with dolls they can create a sense of relationship with other people and develops emotions.

On the other hand, playing with a lot of toys can reduce their mental ability to create new ideas. A research in which toddlers expose to two situation, one with large number of toys and another with few toys. The children with variety of toys seems to be less creative and confuse by having a great number of toys, they do not know what to do with them. On the contrary, children with few toys create new ideas to play with same toys. Moreover, children who play with more toys develop an entitlement and do not have much feelings for others because they get what they want. More often that kind of children have less problem solving minds and do not want to waste their time in puzzle solving and building blocks. It is so that, they have other choices to play with. In that case their knowledge and creativity downs.

In conclusion, playing with great number of toys increase their mental health and sense of morality if they given specific toys at specific time and vice versa.