Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

The practical skills are essential for earning a livelihood but at the same time, the importance of learning facts cannot be denied. Some people are of the view that more time should be spent on everyday skills rather on getting awareness of the realities. I will present both views and my arguments for the learning of hands-on skills at the university level.

If the students are focusing on discovering what is already known, they won’t be productive enough for the society. Unfortunately, the curriculum of the most educational institutions is focused more on the theoretical aspects while the students lack required practical exposure. Undoubtedly, all the students should learn about prevailing facts up to a certain level. This is part and parcel of their growing up as they are curious to get familiarize with as many realities as possible.

On the other hands, if the students are equipped with required practical skills as part of their academic tenure, they would be ready to become independent and contributing to the economy. As a result, a tremendous amount of time and resources can be saved. To illustrate this point, consider medical students getting acquainted with live human organs in their study of anatomy. They will better understand the functionality of the human body and can make informed decisions in their practical roles.

I personally believe that learning facts should be restricted to certain levels i.e. high school, and thereafter, the focus should be on real exposure to the knowledge in addition to the knowledge itself. The aim of the universities should be that of prepare students for their practical life.