Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books.

What is your opinion about this?

It is true that many parents tend to censor and control what their children read. Entertaining books such as magazine, novels are strictly prohibited, and only textbooks and other educational books are allowed. While it is necessary to put more emphasis on those books that could teach children, i completely disagree that reading for pleasure and fun

is a waste of time.

There is no doubt that it is extremely important for children to read for knowledge and skills. The educational content covered in the textbooks could equip them with useful knowledge such as mathematics, history, and geology. By reading them, children could gradually gain wisdom and improve critical thinking skills which is not only necessary for schooling, but also plays a key part in future job hunting process. For example, if a child read extensively about history, he probably do well in history class since he had read most of the materials covered in the course.

I believe that reading for fun is definitely not a waste of time.Firstly, reading is a source of joy for many stressed pupils. They have already suffered a lot from heavy school burdens. And they could release stress by reading comic books and sports magazines Secondly, some books could be both educational and entertaining. Children could cultivate their creativity and imagination when reading fictions.They might experience something they not never have in the real world. Take me for an example,I still could not forget the first time that I read 'Harry Potter'. The magical world in this book blew my mind off.I even write a small novel based on the this book and scored top in the writing competition.

In conclusion, although serious context books should be put more emphasis, it is absurd for parents to deny their kids the freedom of choice what they read. It is meaningful and even necessary for kid to read entertaining books.