Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that visiting online museums and visual art galleries is becoming increasingly popular in recent years. Some people hold the view that we could shut down public museums and other physical art centers. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea for several reasons.

The obvious argument in its favor is that public museums could serve as better cultural hubs than online exhibitions. These sites are not only the place to see the artworks but also offer a perfect spot for people to meet each other with the same interest and an ideal place to hold public activities and events. For example, US Annual Charity Dinner is held in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York each September, as well as fashion gala takes place in Greenwich Village of Manhattan district. These events make it possible for people in the same profession to meet each other.

I would argue the reason for keeping the museums and art galleries may involve the recognition that onsite exhibitions offer a better experience in terms of light effects and exhibition arrangements. The artworks and antiques fit in with exhibition room and natural settings, which provides a marvelous effect for tourists. Namely, the surroundings and atmospheres are also part of the display. Unlike online websites, they just simply present us pictures and three-dimensional models. It is absurd to argue the experience is the same that see a picture of the Great Wall and standing right at the site of its ancient ruins.

Besides, a lot of people who work in these public facilities could become unemployed if they were shut down. And a considerable amount of government income generated by admission fees would disappear.

In conclusion, public museums and art centers have their own unparalleled values. It is unwise and even stupid to replace them with online exhibitions.