Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Discribe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

In this contemporary world, there is a heated discussion among people whether death sentence should be imposed on criminals who are engaged in brutal crimes or not. While there are both merits and demerits of capital punishment. I believe that capital punishment is required in the society to maintain law and order.

To begin with explanation, plethora of advantages can be put forward so as to why capital punishment serves a greater purpose than merely announcing some other punishments. Firstly, death sentence is the best method to prevent a society from committing crimes by showing consequences of a criminal action. For instance, in the Saudi Arabia, because of awarding execution as a punishment of robbery and theft, ratio of these crimes are negligible. Secondly, the government spends large sums of money on the maintainance of prisoners in terms of their food, accommodation, health etcetera. When they are imprisoned, these money can be used for the development of the country and its people instead.

What is half full to some may appear half empty to others. Similarly several other people believe that death penalty can be considered as unsuitable punishment due to several factors. First and foremost, it is irrefutable that the most important thing for a person is the "right to live" and no one has the authority to infringe this right, irrespective of a person's deeds. Moreover, people may be punished wrongly due to unstructured judiciary, this can make the citizens lose faith in the judicial system of the country. In addition to this, criminals should be given a second chance to repent on their acts and deeds and change themselves and live in the society.

Agglomerating the discussion done above, although capital punishment has certain demerits, I think that it is essential part of the system which helps in controlling the criminals' fear and it also lessens the burden on the government.