Some people are making new friends by using socializing network websites and internet
chat rooms. Some people say that this is a good thing. Other people say that people
should make new friends by face-to-face chat. Discuss these views and give your own
opinion.
Some individuals are of the opinion that it is good to make friends online on various
social networking sites and internet chat rooms. However, others are in favour of
making friends by direct face to face chat. This essay intends to look at both
perspectives. I personally side with the latter view.
On the one hand, social network sites like ‘Facebook’ provide a great opportunity for
people to socialize with one another and find common ground, before even meeting.
Online social groups have become fundamental building blocks of modern human
societies. They have a beneficial effect on our way of life. They increase our social
interaction and give us more ways to make social connections. Earlier our social
interactions were constrained by national boundaries, but now the Internet has turned
communication into a global phenomenon. Today, our network of friends stretches
across the globe.
On the other hand, making friends through direct contact is definitely better as social
media sites can cause more harm than good. People can make fake IDs and cheat
anyone. Every now and then we hear stories how girls and boys were cheated through
such sites and after months of friendship, the original identity of the person turned out to
be very different. Cyber criminals can hack the IDs of people and chat on their behalf
which may cause huge misunderstandings.
Furthermore, face to face friendship is better because it is a friendship which has a
deeper bond than online friendship. Man is after all a social animal and friends are
meant to be there when you need them the most. Online friends cannot be with you
when you are sick and you need a friend’s touch. Face to face friends are with you in
thick and thin and this can never be possible with online friends.
To sum up, even though the growing majority of the world’s population abides by the
social meme: “I love my computer, because my friends live in it”, I still reiterate my
opinion that face to face friendships are stronger and longer-lasting.