Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed However others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments Can experimentation on animals be justified Are there any alternatives

Throughout the history of mankind, humans have faced many epidemics and pandemics. Medicine has played a crucial role in dealing with such diseases. However, as a commonly known fact, science requires experimentation. Sometimes these experimentations are conducted on animals in order to test a vaccine or medicine before they're released to the market. I believe this is a safer bet as prohitibiting animal trails will lead to untested products being consumed by the people.

Medicines and vaccines are not only required for humans but also for animals. In many farms across the world, cattles have suffered with different types of epidemics. These could only be trated after animals were experimented with different formulas and only after a successful recovery could the drug be released in the market to save more animals in the future. Also, for diseases affecting humans the drug is first administered on animals and if successul the human trials are conducted. Hence, an argument can be made that animals are experimented the same way humans are in such trials. Further, the risk of releasing a drug without experimentation could be catastrophic in nature and could lead to more deaths than the experimenation would require. Furthermoe, some pathogens spread from animals to humans. In such instances it becomes all the more important to analyse the samples collected form humans and animals alike to understand the effect of a pathogens.

Some animal rights group argue that experimentation on animals is not necessary and a potential alternative should be explored. However nothing full proof is currently available to scientists around the world. It is due to this lack of alternative that scientists are forced to conduct animals trials.

I believe that animals experiments should be conducted as per legal laws in the country until such time that we have an suitable alternative available.