Some people argue that the fittest, strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think that success is as much related to mental attitude.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, sports players are enormously popular in the society. A group of people think that people who are physically fit can only become successful in sports while others think that individual’s mental perception is vital in-order to achieve success. In my opinion, I believe that right mental attitude will be the key towards the success.

On one side of the argument, some people think that it is crucial to have physical strength to win a game. Firstly, most of the players need sufficient strength to battle in some games. For instance, players should have fitness in the body to compete in sports such as rugby and weight lifting. If they are weak then they might not be able to compete strongly in the games. In addition, physical fitness is needed for the games which have longer duration. For example, tennis or cricket players have to be fit enough to compete the game till the end without falling.

Despite the above arguments, I strongly believe that mental strength is more important to become successful in the sports. Most compelling reason is that players should have the courage and devotion to compete the games till the end when the failing in between. If they do no have the courage to continue then they will not be able to continue playing even though they have the strength. Furthermore, it is important to have team spirit to compete in team games such as football and rugby. If there is not team work then the team will not win.

In conclusion,while both views are commonly held in the society, I firmly believe that the right mentality will lead to the success. This is because the players should have focus and team spirit to win the games. Given the situation, players should focus more to improve their mentality by performing activities such as yoga or meditation.