Some people argue that the fittest, strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think that success is as much related to mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people believe that the success index is directly proportional to the level of physical fitness of a sportsperson or a team whereas others claim that the mental attitude is of equal importance. This essay will examine both the sides of argument and explain why I support the latter view.

Those who advocate that the success is synonymous to the physical strength say that the endurance threshold is increased with it. To enunciate, owing to the high level of fitness, a sportsman can fight the opponent till the very end which is a crucial factor in winning it. In addition, the physical power is a requisite in most of the popular games, namely hockey, cricket, tennis, javelin. Therefore, if an individual or a team is stronger than their counterpart, conspicuously the success is bound to follow.

Opponents, however, myself included, highlight that despite attributing majorly in deciding the success rate of a player and team, it is not the only factor. Determination, scheming ability and the enthusiasm equally influence the outcome of a sport. To illustrate, in spite of being an underdog team in the World Cup 1983, almost four decades after british rule, India won the final match against England because of the emotional factors involved in the game and the obssession to defeat England again. Hence, the passion and zeal contribute equally in gauging one's success in sports.

To reiterate, the ways to attain a successful sport's career is a contentious topic which has caused blatant polarization between people. Although the strength of an individual and a team play a vital role in determining the success of the same, in my opinion, the importance of mental fitness cannot be underestimated.