Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Nowadays, every individual is pursuing a tertiary education across the world. Some people think that the purpose of higher education is to help students for coveted employment. While others assert that there are several advantages of university education for both individuals and society. In my opinion, university education is far beyond job prospects and in the course of the essay, I will discuss both viewpoints.

Few people believe the primary role of higher education is to enable students to get high paid jobs based on several reasons. One of the reasons is market researches in many developed countries have shown that postgraduates get a higher salary at the workplace when compared to graduates or diploma holders. Moreover, all professional white-collar jobs like doctors, scientists, professors need university education after high school to pursue their respective streams. Furthermore, the credibility of universities is judged on the basis of a number of candidates get selected in multinational companies with a well-paid package during campus recruitments. Hence, university education is an important means of better employment.

However, the merits of higher education are not restricted to an individual's income. To begin with, university education contributes to a nation's economic growth. For example, various universities allow international students to pursue their master's degrees in their respective streams. Thus, universities help improve the economic growth of the country which in turn beneficial to society. In addition to this, students meet people from diverse cultures and backgrounds. As a result, it decreases incidents of cultural intolerances and students learn to respect the other's culture. Hence, crime rates reduce in society.

In conclusion, I believe that apart from well-paid and respectable employment, tertiary education has numerous benefits to society in the ways of economic growth of the country and a decrease in crime rates caused due to cultural intolerances.