Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Over the last decade the importance of learning another country language to children have taken a significance importance. However, is it really necessary to teach the children a foreign language at early age? While, some feel that they should wait till they enroll to a college or university, However, I believe that they should start learning a foreign language soon after registering to a school due to various benefits associated.

On the one hand, it could be argued that study of foreign language should wait. Those in favour argue that young school children have an occupied timetable. They might be engaged in other core subjects such as mathematics, science, geography which requires lots of time for the practice and imposing them another country language might lead them to not give enough time to study those subjects which are vital for their future jobs. Moreover, they also argue that only small minority of children will actually need to use a second language, so it is waste of time for teaching a skill which will be redundant in later life.

However, I believe that there are various benefits of teaching a foreign language in early days of the school of a child. The first and foremost benefit is that the school going children have no fear of making pronunciation mistakes because people often ignore their pronunciation mistakes and treat them as their innocence. Consequently, their capacity of learning new vocabulary and sentence formation of other language becomes higher. Moreover, I hold that opinion that learning a foreign language at the initial days of school of a child also impacts on other cognitive skills. In other words, learning another language helps them to become innovative as they formed new sentences, pick new vocabulary and think creatively. Which will eventually enhance the overall comprehension of school going children.

In conclusion, although, supporters of teaching foreign language at secondary level hold the opinion that it should be taught in college due to the preoccupied schedule of children but in my view, learning the non-native language in early days of school greatly influences the later life of a school child in shaping the other critical thinking skills which are essential for their future life.