Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A vast majority considered that the international media plays pivotal role in creating globalization. However, is it necessary to teach students regarding international news as subject in their curriculum, while some believe that they should. I disagree and opine that this is unproductive use of the precious school time.

On the one hand, teaching international news at school level have certain benefits. The first and foremost advantage is that it may enhance the general reading capabilities of the students. In other words, students who are taught international news at younger age may led them to become avid reader in the later part of their life, which eventually will help them in understanding the complex text. Furthermore, it may also enhance their understanding about the different terminology used in complex writings which they might not read in their text book, that contain very specific range of words. Another great benefit of teaching global news in academia is that Students may develop broader exposure about the key developments happening in the world. Hence, they can prepare their mind ahead of any natural calamity. Let’s take the example of children who followed the Covid19 precautionary measures through the WHO guidelines which are periodically published in international media, are already taking the necessary measures in order to save their own and their family lives.

However, there are arguments to suggest that teaching international news at school level can create obstacles for the children to focus on their core subjects. The primarily reason of this might be that students may focus too much on this specific subject while ignoring their core subjects which are essential for their future jobs. In addition, it may crate hindrance for those students who are often not fond of following global news. Thus, their overall academic results may suffer with the addition of international news in their curricula. Moreover, learning global media at younger age might create detrimental impact on children’s mind as the international news are always full with negative and adverse stories about the different parts of the world. So, teaching them in early years of their life may shape their attitude hostile.

In conclusion, although, getting familiar with the international news has certain gain for the children, but the negative sentiments which might be created can become destructive for their future. Therefore, on balance, I believe students should not be taught international news as the part of their subject.