Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Often at times, it is perceived by few that to succeed at a sport one requires gifted ability, on the other hand, there are many who thinks that giving daily attention and hard work can make one successful in this area. In this essay, I am going to discuss both of the viewpoints and will also provide my opinion that why both sides are significant for one to succeed.

Some people think that one should be abiding skills from their childhood to master in a sport. This gives a person a special situation where he can excel in the sport without giving a significant amount of effort. For example, Roger Federer who is World’s number one basketball player, he aces the game by basketing a ball from mid-ground of the court, thanks to his exceptional height and an excellent physique. He is about 6’5” tall, and his height comes very handily as none of the opponents is a match for him and this gives him a very good advantage as no one can obstruct him.

However, there are many who admires that hard work and regular effort to pursue a sport plays major role in defining one’s success. For instance, Anne Williams, who is six-time Formula – 1 World Champion, during one of a press interview, revealed that the credit of her achievement goes to the numerous hours she spent on practice. She mentioned that she used to spend 12 hours a day for 9 continuous years on race tracks and when weather conditions were not in favour she leveraged technology to simulate race conditions.

All in all, I am motivated by a famous quote, “Practice makes a man perfect”. Hence, I firmly believe that to be on top of a field be it a sport or anything else one does require natural skills but regular practice and a tremendous amount of hard work are also equally important.