Some people believe that children should not be given homework everyday, while others believe that they must get homework everyday in oder to be successful at school.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an issue about the necessity of home assignments in schooling. Some parents claim that these assignments should be removed, while some teachers state that they assist students to progress. This essay will consider both points of view and agree that homework brings great benefits to students.

Let us start with reasons why some parents believe that homework is redundant. The first reason is that the majority of students do not do it anyway. Many pupils are reluctant to spend hours on doing homework, because there are many pleasant things around them, such as video games and football with friends. Another reason is that students cannot relax at home. Many children complain that homework often takes so much time that they cannot think about anything else except school, which have negative impact on their academic performance. Furthermore, teachers spend much time on checking homework. Both preparing homework and, subsequently, reviewing the completed home assignments normally take tutors much time, so that they can barely afford to think of new lessons to keep students interested in the subject.

However, some teachers state that homework is essential in education. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it commonly helps students to reinforce the learned material. Pupils, who do homework, usually show best results, because it allows them to study the class material again alone. Secondly, it normally contributes to the development of self-discipline in students. Graduates, who regularly did homework at school, frequently achieve high results at work, because they are accustomed to performing extra work at home as a habit developed from college. Moreover, it often shows teachers the potential of each student. Classwork does not reveal how well students learned the material, but home assignments can demonstrate it and let tutors to focus on lagging students.

In conclusion, although some parents advocate the idea of abolishing homework in education, I think that it will be unreasonable for the above mentioned reasons provided by some teachers.