Some people believe that economic growth of any country reduces poverty and hunger while other think that it causes damage to the environment. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Economic growth is essential to measure a country's progress. Some people think that growth of a country's economy diminishes poverty and hunger, while some believe that it results in hurting the environment. I believe, it is important to eliminate poverty and hunger through the economic growth of a nation.

On the one hand, a country's economic upturn increases local production of goods and services. Firstly, To produce goods, factories exhale harmful chemicals into the environment, which is not safe for human beings. Alternatively, government could step forward and impose strict laws to make use of renewable sources of energy and lessen release of harmful chemicals into the environment. Secondly, the increase in production requires human labor, who migrate to cities due to employment opportunities. This results in destroying trees to build houses to accommodate new immigrants, in turn damaging the ecosystem. This can be controlled by building taller buildings with many apartments inside.

On the other hand, a country's economic prosperity is a boon. First, it provides employment opportunities to indigenous people. Thus, a salaried person will be capable enough to take care of basic requirements like food, shelter and clothes. Furthermore, grocery stores will sell locally produced grains and food products. People could buy these produce, which are cheap due to no import fees. As a result, even a low wage individual could purchase food products. Additionally, government could build shelter homes for homeless people, and engage them in small-scale industry that produces shoes, belts etc. This way, everyone in the society is benefitted and there will be no poverty or hunger in that nation.

In conclusion, although there are some downsides of economic growth such as greenhouse gases and destruction of trees, which could be easily handled by making use of renewable sources of energy and taller building. The upsides of economic upturn are enormous like employment, cheap food products, shelter to homeless people thereby eliminating poverty and hunger.