Some people believe that elderly employees are more useful to a company while others believe that young employees are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The human resources of a company are always a significant reason for any company. Some people believe that senior employees are more beneficial for a company, whereas others believe that young employees are superior. Before putting any opinion, this essay will investigate both views.

One of the key reasons why elderly employees are more useful to a company is that aged staffs possibly rescue the company from difficult scenarios. Usually, old employees have vast work experience to face different sorts of tough scenarios. As a result, they are expected to know about the appropriate way to save the company from different problematic conditions. To illustrate, after the 2007 recession, Investec Investment Bank decided to keep at least one experienced employee in all of its portfolio management team because of their experience to tackle extreme economic conditions.

On the other hand, young employees will likely increase the efficiency of a company. In general, young employees are more dynamic and energetic, who is likely to be multi-tasker. Therefore, young employees will possibly complete tasks of multiple employees, increasing the efficiency of a company. For instance, in 2001, after Microsoft decided to reduce its average employees’ age by about 20.0%, the overall output of its human resources jumped by at least 25.0%.

In conclusion, although both types of employees are beneficial for a company, I strongly believe that young employees are more useful to a company because of their ability to boost up the productivity of a company. I work in an e-commerce company formed by some young entrepreneurs, which has the highest level of sales per employee among its peers.