Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences.Others may think there are alternative ways to this problem.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

For years, creating a balance between crime and sentence was highly controversial in the judiciary. While using harsh sentences, like longer jail sentences, can create an inhibitory effect on crime growth, it conflicts with rehabilitation which is one of the major purposes of jail sentences.

Deterrence was One of the oldest and most important criterion in making any juridical act since the modern justice system was created. In other word, using the fear of consequence is highly effective to reduce crime, because a potential criminal may have second thoughts when he/she thinks about the consequences of his/her action. A research in 2000 has shown that the society gravitates towards anomaly. Simply put, the people tend to break the rules in their subconscious. As a result, if the balance between actions and consequences disturbs, there will be a chaos in the society.

From the perspective of human rights, the rehabilitation should be one of the main purposes of any sentence. It is obvious that no one is born as a criminal and there are a wide variety of factors like economy and society involved in any crime. A research on the criminals of Germany has shown that about the 70 percent of crimes has been done without any plan. As a result, a chance of rehabilitation should be given to every man and woman. We all live once and it’s our natural right to live good. It’s not fair enough to put someone, especially a young person, in jail for a long time because he/she failed to make a good decision in a moment.

By way of conclusion, Although it is necessary to make a balance between crimes and sentences to deter people from committing crimes, it’s also utterly vital to consider rehabilitation, especially for young people. Considering this, it is safe to say that the logical sentence for a crime depends on the situation and the criminal himself/herself. Simply put, it’s obvious that the sentence for a man who steals to feed his family should not be equal with someone who steals just for fun.