Some people think that only staff who worked in the company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions.

What is your opinion on this?

Give reasons and relevant examples for your answer

Defining the criterion for filling a job vacancy, especially for the high positions, has been highly controversial in recent years. Some people believe these positions should only be filled using the staff who worked for the company. In this essay, I will examine this view and discuss why I strongly believe it mainly depends on the company’s type of work.

When there is a need to fill a job position, especially for hard-to-fill positions, one good strategy is to promote the staff who are working for the company. This is a highly effective strategy because of some reason. First, they are entirely familiar with company procedures. So there is no learning curve for them regarding how the system works. Secondly, they are familiar enough with the people they suppose to work with. So they know how to resolve conflicts especially when the troubles flare up. Although these are very important criteria to fill a job position, for some jobs they are not enough.

Although knowing the company routines and people are so important, but for some jobs, especially the knowledge-based ones, they can’t be the main criterion. In these kinds of jobs, the most important criterion is how well the candidate knows about the technical aspects of the position and how creative he/she can be in it. For example, it’s perfectly obvious that if you have an IT company, Bill Gates is a better fit as a CEO rather than most of the working staff.

By way of conclusion, I once reaffirm my opinion that although it’s a good strategy to use current staff to fill higher positions, it’s not enough for some jobs. It totally depends on the job type. But I think it’s safe to say that if you have, at the same time, a suitably qualified candidate inside your company and another one outside, the best choice is the first one.