Some people believe that government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire Others say individual should save during their working years to fund their own retirement What is your opinion Give reasons for your answer

It is argued that retirees should be looked after and receive financial resources from the government. Others, however, hold the thought that people should save a portion of their income to have a nest-egg in their retirement. Personally, I believe that both measures should be adopted as each one has its own benefits.

Admittedly, the provision of state monetary and health-care support to the elder after their retirement is associated with a host of merits. The key argument here is that in their seventies or eighties, the elderly are unlikely to take good care of themselves, especially those who are susceptible to chronic diseases. Therefore, by providing old people with excellent medical care including high-quality rest-home or convalescent home, government are able to ensure the health of these citizens, which ultimately boosts the social welfare. Granted, one might argue that the responsibility of fulfilling old people’s well-being lies fully with their children or grandchildren. However, this line of reasoning is not sound since they have already been occupied by a huge amount of workload at school or workplace. In addition, there are colossal retirees whose pension is far from enough to afford their medical bills, house rents and monthly grocery. Hence, it is vital that financial resources should be allocated to these individuals to subsist their lives.

However, it is imprudent to downplay the importance of the culture of saving of workers to support their retirement. Since savings-oriented people are not dependent on the state for their living expenses, this may instill a sense of self-respect and confidence in them. To be specific, those who are reliant on the government’s funding are faced with negative societal stigma, which ultimately makes them feel inferior to their counterparts. Furthermore, having saving account to assist one’s retirement is beneficial to the overall economic development of a country. In other words, if individuals were able to accumulate money for their own pension age, it would lessen the financial burden on the state. Hence, this allows government to focus on allotting resources to more efficacious purposes such as education, medication or agriculture.

In conclusion, while the provision of state monetary support is essential to assist retirees in terms of health and financial means, it is vital that people should have saving habits as it benefits both themselves and national development.