Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.
Discuss both views and give your opinion
Laws in many countries are defined by their constitution or the government. Violating them generally attracts imprisonment.
It is often suggested by some people that the higher the prison sentence, the lower will be the crime rate. However, there
are contrary views to this suggesting numerous alternatives to reduce crime. In this essay, I will elaborate on both the views
and suggest why other methods are fruitful in the long term.
There are many ways to create a sense of fear in potential criminals, and one of those is to have them serve longer
sentences. Though it keeps them away from society for a longer time and reduces the probability of criminal activities
happening in the region, it has shown negligible improvement in crime rates across the world.
On drilling deeper into the criminal's mindset to understand the root cause of the crime, the primary reasons that emerge
are poverty and inadequate reinforcement. In countries where there are better opportunities available for the
underprivileged, the crime rate is generally noted to be lower. Better lifestyle, employment opportunities, and economic
stimulus packages by the government have sustained a lower rate for the long term. Another reason to achieve this is to
ensure adequate enforcement. Lack of coverage enables the potential criminal to conduct a crime and vindicate
themselves, which often makes them repeat offenders. Countries such as Phillippines and Indonesia have enforced
nationwide policing to keep a check on drug related activities through world-class training, an adequate number of police
personnel, and sufficient supplies of material. Applying such measures to fight crime leads to an intrinsic development of
the society.
In conclusion, the believers of longer prison sentences still continue to take their stand, however, in my opinion, it is not a
long term solution to fight crime and create awareness in the society.