Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a controversial issue that whether crime could be reduced by longer prison or by other considerations. In my opinion, there are numerous other ways which could help to decrease illegal activities. Both viewpoints are discussed in forthcoming paragraphs.

On one hand, it is essential to make a control over frequent offenders and this could be done only through longer prisonments. This is probably because some people do not learn from their mistakes and they become habitant to legal activities. As a result, nothing can work for them instead of long life sentences. Moreover, to stop similar big cases, it is vital to teach lesson at first attempt. Murderer, rapist and gamblers are such instances who should taught a lesson for safeguard of society.

On the other hand, plethora of crime cases is conducted due to cash deficiency, lack of education or lack of strict rules and regulations. It is, therefore, vital to find out the cause of illegal activities to abolish them from root. Only longer prisonments could not help to improve threats and thefts in society. In my view, illiteracy could be one of the main aspect of crime which could be removed by education and strict rules and regulations could be imposed by government to hedge illegal activities.

To recapitulate, crimes are immense concern of every society. Although longer prisonments are helpful, other ways such as education and legislation could have more benefit.