Some people believe that the museums and historic sites should be open for free for children under 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, because of the growing importance of culture and artwork some opine that museums and historic landscapes should be free of charge for children under 18. I personally agree with this statement because in this way societies could encourage the younger generation to know about their backgrounds.

To begin with, in my opinion, this approach of motivating them to visit such places not only could inspire them to be like an influential figure such as Queen Elizabeth who despite her gender stood in front of men and prove to them that she can independently rule her kingdom and fight alongside men in battles as a women and the outcome of this story could be a valuable lesson for girls to implement in their lives, but also they could learn about bad experiences from the past such as the extinction of certain nations because of their reckless behavior towards the preservation of their environment, therefore they could make an effort to avoid or overcome similar problems in order to be more successful in life.

however, this approach might have some flaws as well. Firstly, most children are clearly not cautious enough about valuable items in museums because in their perspective these are a number of old objects, thus, allowing them to roam around in such places could be disastrous because they could easily break historic items and artworks due to their reckless behavior. Last but not least, in that age period children especially teenagers are not in a state of mind to appreciate and understand historic concepts and their significance. For instance, a group of teenagers in a museum are more occupied with laughing and mockings objects and artworks with their friends instead of taking in the paramount aspects and the stories behind these items.

In conclusion, I admit that this approach could be very helpful to educate and acquaint the younger generation about the value and significance of historical and art items, hence, they would be not relatively ignorant about their cultures and concept of history so they would be willing to protect and understand them in the best of their ability.