Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Life comes with a lot of complex choices. Of late, many people feel that they have been spoil rotten for choices. I totally agree with this notion that a myriad options makes life more complicated rather than, easy. In this essay I would further, present my argument with plausible examples.

Now to validate my claim in favour of the negative sides of too many varieties to pick from I would like to express my concern that it gets almost impossible for a person to even contemplate as to which goods he should avail of, due a wide selection ranging from different prices, features, to models etc. the same goes for services also simply a range of services capable of suiting our needs. Take for example internet connections services in India are also ranging from, Airtel, Vodafone, Jio, Intel that too with 2g 3g or 4g that with various options of prepaid, post-paid, net billing etc. trying to figure out which package suits your needs the most also would prove to be an arduous task. And by the time the person nails the right package meeting his requirement he has wasted a lot of his precious time and effort.

Another valid reason to corroborate my statement in favour of the havoc played by the number of options to select from. Of late such a big range is making the commoners life way to stressful rather than, easing of the consumer of a particular good or service. Especially while buying even routine items he has to scrutinize, various sizes, colours, textures, styles and even trends. This proves to be too time consuming and even taxing leading to a lot of tedium. Due to these detrimental factors he is being slowly pushed into consumerism like the Americans are currently struggling to get out of the ill- effects of large scale consumerism. Which is being propelled by the wide range of products available, beautifully showcased and even brilliantly advertised. So this wide variety of choices has obviously lead to a delirium state.

There may be, people who could see the possibility of choices as positive development, citing the reasons that it suits customised tastes and preferences of people who are wealthy or fastidious for, it believes in backing such people.

To sum up this exposition, I would just like to add to my belief that too many preferences come with a lot more disadvantages than advantages. So, a minimalistic society could certainly lead to a lot more clarity and even tranquillity.