Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The human civilization has travelled far in terms of communication; from carving images in caves, making symbols and writing on leaves, stones and bark of trees. The messengers have also been dramatically changed from using pigeons, horses, trains, airplanes and a postman to conclude the task; to using Gmail or Hotmail as the carriers to everyday messages these days. However during the whole course of human history, the act of writing letters on paper had been considered the best and fantasized period.

Nonetheless, in the past few decades the advent of modern technology had been trying to undermine the role of conventional letters. The telegram in the early part of previous century was suitable to transfer messages hundreds of miles away in fraction of time. With the development of telephone and later fax, the people across the globe became closer to each other in a more comfortable manner. However both these technologies were unable to cut short the importance and efficacy of writing a conventional paper-based letter.

People from every part of the world had been writing letters to their loved ones, family members and pen pals across the globe. Writing a letter had been considered the way of communicating the emotions along with the information. Letters written by famous people are considered as part of literature and history and students of literature are made to read the letters to understand the richness of language and the vocabulary used by the people of their previous generations.

Recently, with the advent of email communication generally and social media communication specifically; the practice of writing conventional letters is finally seen to be going to the downtrend of almost extinction. People sitting in different parts of the world can talk and see each other using computer and mobile applications, and email communication has become a unanimous norm to converse with people whether it is a personal communication or official information-sharing between employee and employer or business partners. Even the researchers nowadays send their dissertations, thesis and research articles to their supervisors in digital form over the email, rather than giving a paper copy.

In the light of all these factors, I would suggest that writing letters as communication means would completely diminish in the coming few years.