Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the criminals should be taken in jail for a long time or not. It seems to be a rather long-running and protracted controversy. In this essay, both views will be discussed followed by my opinion.

One of the main reasons for the offenders should be stayed in prison for a long time is that the most of convicts will break the law again after they are released from jail. Because they may learn the experience from other outlaws in the prison and become more dangerous to the society. In addition to that, increasing the punishment of the crime is a good way to deter the crimes. They may think twice about the seriousness of the problem before they commit the crimes. Furthermore, if the government does not give harsh punishments to the criminals, it may let them think little of laws.

Others that disagree the views, on the other hand, point out that there are other methods to reduce the crimes. They think that it is the government’s responsibility to teaching criminals professional skills in the jail. So they can find a job easily and have the abilities to support themselves after they return to society. Moreover, those criminals can do community service to learn how to help others, and they can also get respect from others. That is also a good way to reduce the crime rates.

In conclusion, both views have right. As far as I am concerned, I prefer that government should give harsh punishments, such as huge fines, limit their freedom and so on, to deter the criminals. Because they should be responsible for what they have done.