Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

With the advancement of technology, not only has older people started spending significant amount of time socializing on their phone, but it has also affected younger generation. The given topic asserts that social media applications have negatively affected the ability of socialization of young people. Through this essay I will examine the dimensions of this topic through examples and assertions and shape up my opinion by the end.

On one hand, people believe that social media helps people connect with each other, as it allows communication with people from around the world through chatting and video calling. In addition, it also helps people to communicate by sharing thoughts and pictures with each other. For example, these applications also provide the opportunity to learn about different cultures and heritage of different people.

On the contrary, there are people who believe that it has negative effects on the social ability of youngsters. One of the main reason is that they spend more time on their phones rather than socializing with people around them. Moreover, they disconnect from the real world, and falls into the trap of fake emotions of social media. For instance, a recent study conducted by “ The Tribune” states that 86% of the lifestyle shown on social media is fake and 65% of the online friends are scammers looking for their prey.

Nevertheless, weighing both the sides of the opinions, I take the ground that, although social media applications have made it easier for people to communicate and make friends but the negative consequences of social media outweighs the advantages. Therefore, government should take stringent action to promote socialism, in order to make sure that young people spend significant amount of time socializing in person rather than online.