Some people believe that spending on celebrating birthdays or weddings is a waste of money, but some argue that these celebrations can benefit both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing trend of grand ceremonies of different occasions such as birthdays, weddings and house warming. It is often argued that these celebrations lead to unnecessary spending of money, whilst others disagree and argue that it is a positive trend for the overall welfare of an individual and society. This essay agrees with the former viewpoint that these events drain away a significant part of the money and will discuss both viewpoints to support the arguments with suitable examples.

It is irrefutable to say that in this modern era people spend their life savings to commemorate the occasions, particularly weddings and birthdays. Firstly, If looked at closely then this is certainly a negative trend and merely a wealth show-off depicted in the form of extensive celebrations. Secondly, instead of this unmindful spending, it is better to invest money wisely. For instance, instead of celebrating a child's first birthday at a five-star hotel, It is better to save that amount for his higher education. Similarly, court marriages can be preferred over elite weddings. Therefore, It is agreed that these large-scale parties can be avoided and money can be saved for essential future needs.

However, certain demographics of society disagree and feel that these occasional events definitely need grand celebrations.

In their opinion, these events bind the whole community together and are the platform of social communication. In addition to this, these special occasions have also become a social obligation for many people and offer individual happiness. Despite this, human interaction is still possible by other free of cost mediums such as parks and one can feel equally happy in the company of closed ones when birthdays are celebrated at house-level. Moreover, such sort of truck loaded spending on such functions set a wrong precedent on economically weak class. Therefore, this essay is in discord of this viewpoint that these lavish celebrations are for the good of an individual and society.

To recapitulate, I would like to reiterate that these hi-fi celebrations are a complete waste of money and should be invested appropriately. Though, certain people still feel that the absence of such events will deprive of the social interaction. But it is a wrong perception and can be mitigated by public awareness of facts represented above.