Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

The argument over whether learning at home or at school is better for children has not

been settled yet. Whereas home education offers better protection with individual

learning and opportunities for families to bond, schools have a superior range of material

and human resources. Ultimately, I think the school experience is best for children.

There are several advantages for children who learn at home. Firstly, they can spend

more time with their parents and siblings. Many social problems are associated with

families not spending enough quality time together. Teaching children at home also

provides them with an individualized learning environment. Instruction is custom designed

and moves at the child’s own pace and in accordance with his or her individual

learning style. Finally, home schooling protects children from bullies and others who

might be a bad influence.

On the other hand, the school environment also offers advantages for children. Schools

encourage children to socialite with their peers and learn how to cope with gossip,

bullying and peer pressure. In addition, children will receive better tuition across a range

of disciplines, as schools have teachers who are trained in special subjects. What is

more, schools provide better access to physical resources such as sports equipment,

musical instruments and library books.

I believe that children are better off in a school environment. Although family time and

individual learning are important, the range of expertise and resources that schools offer

cannot be matched in the home. School environments may present difficult social

situations, but so too does the real world and children must learn to navigate these on

their own.