Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is a positive or negative development?

The advancement in technology has brought a number of benefits to the society and one of the advantages is Aviation. However, certain individuals have this notion that the demand of travelling by air will be reduced in future. In my opinion, I do believe that the lowering of demand of air travel will have a negative impact on the economy and society of the country.

The reduction in the need for traveling through aircraft will be beneficial for society as an airplane consumes thousand tons of air-fuel to travel from one place to the other thus depleting the natural resources of the country. Moreover, flying through air contribute to global warming and pollution as airplanes run on kerosene fuel which when combusted releases a huge amount of carbon dioxide and other harmful gases such as carbon monoxide and nitrogen monoxide in atmosphere which destroys the thin layer of the stratosphere, causing the harmful sun rays to enter the Earth. To elucidate, a recent study reports that on an average the airplane releases more than 60 percent of harmful gases in the atmosphere thus they are the one of the main reason for environment degradation.

However, air travel has made the world a smaller place, now travelling through air to different countries saves a lot of time thus making human life much easier. Furthermore, countries that largely depend on tourism as the major source of income have been aided by convenient air travel hence, any reduction in air transport will not only affect tourist inflow adversely but also bring down the economic growth of those nations. To illustrate, Maldives, an island nation solely depends on its tourism industry and any reduction will bring down its foreign cash inflow and economy drastically.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that the disadvantage of reduction in air travel outweighs the advantages as the reduced air crafts will have a negative influence on the nations economy and growth and will even make the human life harder as they will have to spend a lot of time in travelling to other places.