Some people believe that university education is to help graduates to get better jobs. Others believe that there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Acquiring tertiary education is becoming tremendously popular nowadays. Some people are of opinion that the only purpose of tertiary education is to secure a better job, however others think that society and individuals benefit in broader ways. In my opinion, I believe that although the main aim of university education is to gain good jobs, there are additional benefits which must be considered.

It is certainly true that main objective of tertiary education is to have better career prospects. In other words, majority of pupils attend university to secure a sound career. A university degree enhances a person’s job profile and in turn results in attractiveness from potential employers. For instance, in Europe, getting a professional degree is quite expensive, so many students would not consider it, if they would not find it worthy for securing a future and high standard of living. Furthermore, many universities maintain a reputation. In other words, they ensure their graduates would get best jobs in the markets. As result of that, they secure their future funding and student’s application as well.

On the contrary, there are other advantages that could be achieved from University education. Firstly, students develop social skills and improve themselves as a person. They spend their valuable time socializing with other students from different culture. Consequently, they develop maturity and confidence which enable them to cope with struggles of life ahead. Secondly, society will be contributed from graduates in term of economic prosperity. We are living in competitive world, so countries, especially developing countries, need graduated people to compete and work for economic growth.

In conclusion, I believe that even though job prospects could be secured with university education, there are further benefits for individuals and society.